Meet Our Youth Staff: Kaylene Sheran

By, Saphire Broxton, Events Intern

image1.JPG

Kaylene Sheran

This summer, ZUMIX has a new group of youth staff members working here as part of the John Hancock MLK Summer Scholars Program! We caught up with them and asked some questions about their lives, their connections to ZUMIX, and their connections to music! This week, I interviewed Kaylene Sheran – here are her responses:

What’s your name and age and where do you live?

Kaylene Sheran, 17, East Boston

If you could describe ZUMIX in one word, what would it be?

I would describe ZUMIX as powerful because it gives ordinary people extraordinary power to be able to share their thoughts and opinions through the arts.

How has ZUMIX impacted your life?

ZUMIX has impacted my life bc I’ve never been able to play sports due to my health so ZUMIX has given me an outlet to be able to express myself in ways that other programs are unable to

Who would you recommend to visit and learn about ZUMIX and why?

I would have to say that it would be my 11th grade English teacher because she started off doing radio  and I feel like she would really enjoy the radio station here.

What is your most prominent memory at ZUMIX?

My most prominent memory was when I got to go with Madeleine to WBZ radio and be on air to talk about the DJ event that was happening at ZUMIX at the time.

What about music is most important to you?

Music gives people a chance to express themselves in a way that other things like spoken word may not be able to give to them. I feel that every song has the power to connect to people on a personal basis because there are songs about every possible feeling and every possible situation someone may be in.

If you were a genre, which one would you be?

I think that I would be alternative because it’s kind of a genre like no other genre and I like to be unique and share my stories because I feel that every person is different and that’s what’s so special about the world.

Leave a Reply

