Staff Picks: June 2017

Staff Picks - June 2017

Summer is in full swing here at ZUMIX. In anticipation for the inevitable barbecues you will be at tomorrow for the 4th, here are some suggestions for additions to that backyard playlist courtesy of your friends at ZUMIX. These are the tracks we were digging over the past month including Roxbury-based artist, Vintage Lee, who has been hailed as Next Wave of Boston Rap.” Sit back, press play, and dive right on in. The water is fine!

“How Can I” by Laura Marling


“I’ve been traveling a lot recently and have discovered that there is absolutely no better sunset plane ride music than Laura Marling.” – Anni Leff, Development Associate

“Free Room” by Raven Lanae Ft. Appleby


“It’s finally summer! And right now, this song feels like a celebration of the sunshine.” – Sarah Saydun, Pathways Coordinator

“Bless You” by Vintage Lee


“Chill summer vibes, posted up at Popeyes. I think the catchiness of the track and the visuals made me hit repeat.” – Rene Dongo, Radio Program Coordinator

“Neighbors” by J. Cole


“Neighbors called the police because a lot of people were going in and out of this house. They assumed cause they looked like thugs that drugs were being sold here. Police then raided the house only to find a recording studio where artists rent out to record. Inspiring this song by J. Cole with live footage in the video of the raid. Thats what I call real.” – Corey DePina, Youth Development and Performance Manager

“Yes We Can” by Lee Dorsey


“Recently discovered the treasure chest of funky soul grooves that comprise the catalogue of Lee Dorsey. With a positive message, a voice that drips melody like tupelo honey, and New Orleans’ very own the Meters as his backing band, what more could you possibly ask for?” – Scott Mizrachi, Volunteer Coordinator

“Farmer In The City” by Scott Walker


“I love it because: I’m a farmer in the city.” – Ed Meradith, Teaching Artist

“Toe Toes” by Palm

“The mesmerizing drum and bass combo lets me drift away while the jarring guitar tones and rhythm keep me alert. It’s a very refreshing take on syncopation with interesting melody, noise, and chord choices.” – Ramsel Gonzalez, Program Manager

“Blood Muscle Skin & Bone” by Brandi Carlile


“This song always gets me through hard days and reminds me to ask for help when I need it!” – Kelly Baker, Director of Development

“Guilty” by Lady Wray


“All month I have been fixated on Charles Bradley, affectionately known as the screaming eagle of soul. This is not Charles Bradley but an algorithm at Spotify told me that I would also dig this track. Turns out I do!” – Jeeyoon Kim, Events Associate

“Lately” by Polica


“This is a love song whose meaning I’ve repurposed to be about trust and truth in all kinds of relationships. If it’s good it’s gonna stay.” – Brittany Thomas, Radio Station Manager

 

 

Leave a Reply

