Meet Andrew, ZUMIX Youth Staff.

AndrewEvery year through the John Hancock MLK Summer Scholars Program, ZUMIX hires 5-10 youth to work with us for the summer. Positions range from assisting with our music programs, working with our Development & Communications team, or helping to plan community arts events. For many youth, this is their first paid job.

This week, we interviewed Andrew, who told us why we should listen to people with different perspectives than our own- especially young people. Read the full interview below:

What is your name?

My name is Andrew.

How old are you?

I’m 20 and in September I’ll be at Mass Bay studying broadcast journalism. I live in Dorchester.

How long have you been at ZUMIX? Why did you join?

Coming up on a year in September. One of my teachers had told me about it because she knew I was really into radio and she grew up in the East Boston area.

What did you do here?

The first program I did was Radioactive. It teaches you how to go live on the online stream that we have here, how to host a show, how to schedule a show, and how to put a show together. Also how to use the engineering board, like how to take people’s levels. All the nuances of a radio show.

Now that you are here as a non-student, what are you doing?

I’m a radio intern now. It’s a cool opportunity because I’m somewhat teaching the class that I just took but I produce for radio too on Wednesdays and Fridays…It’s an interesting aspect and dynamic.

What do you like most about your jobs? What about your job are you most excited about? What do you hope to accomplish at ZUMIX?

That it’s in the career field that I want. Some may see it as a summer job but I see it as a career. I’m excited about being able to work with young people that have the same general interests as me and just seeing how their minds can be sparked by it so early. I hope to progress with my radio show especially when we go FM. And to build up the ZUMIX brand! Even if it just means picking up more people to listen online.

What are you most proud of (musically or non-musically)?

Personally just being so diverse in my music. I can go from listening to The Temptations to Queen to Jay Z or even Justin Timberlake. It kind of factors into ZUMIX because you hear so much different music here every day so I just like how diverse my music background is.

What is your earliest memory with or about music?

It’s always been in my life. I don’t remember it, I was probably two or three, I saw a picture of myself playing with the piano at my grandfather’s house. Other than that, music has always been a part of my life.

If you could be a musical instrument what would you be and why?

A saxophone because it’s my favorite instrument. I like how deep it can get.

What is the purpose of music? What does music mean to you?

To send a message. Like, I didn’t realize how big Michael Jackson was until I looked at some of his concerts. He was in Japan, he didn’t speak any Japanese but all the people knew every word to all of his songs. Music cures all. You can’t see it but you feel it.

If you could take any musician to any show, who would it be, and what show would you take them to?

I would take every rapper that’s out now and take them to a Biggie show. I feel like the state of hip-hop and RnB is terrible. I would probably bring a lot of the RnB artists now back into the late 80s and early 90s.

If you had to give advice to someone younger than you, what would it be?

Don’t be afraid to question everything.

How about someone older? What would you tell them?

Listen to the people that are younger than you. Don’t overlook them just because they’re young because they may just have a different perspective. You could be agreeing on something and just seeing it in different ways.

What was the happiest moment in your life?

It’s between my girlfriend’s and my prom and graduation day. And also winning the national championship in 5th grade for basketball.

Do you think music can change the world? In what ways?

Yea music helps me a lot personally just through personal tribulations. I just go to music to release everything.

Leave a Reply

