DawryEvery year through the John Hancock MLK Summer Scholars Program, ZUMIX hires 5-10 youth to work with us for the summer. Positions range from assisting with our music programs, working with our Development & Communications team, or helping to plan community arts events. For many youth, this is their first paid job.

This week, we interviewed Dawry, who told us why he loves working at ZUMIX and what he thinks David Bowie has in common with Twenty One Pilots. Read the full interview below:

What is your name?

Dawry.

How old are you?

I am 14.

Where do you go to school and where do you live?

I go to Roxbury Prep High School and I live in East Boston.

How long have you been at ZUMIX? Why did you join? What did you do here?

Two years. I was looking for something to do in the summer and while I was walking my neighbor’s dog I met Jenny and that’s how I got into programs. Jenny is the program director here at ZUMIX. That summer I started doing reality radio, a program here last year. You take a topic you’re interested in and you do a radio story for that topic and my topic was gentrification in East Boston.

Now that you are here as a non-student, what are you doing?

My job is the Communications Intern. I work on social media like Facebook and Instagram. I also do a lot of photography here at ZUMIX for the website and a lot of designing. It’s interesting to see how I can do it for organizations besides for myself. I usually do graphics, banners, or posters.

What do you like most about your jobs? What about your job are you most excited about? What do you hope to accomplish at ZUMIX?

For me it’s just another excuse to come to ZUMIX. It’s a great place, it creates a great atmosphere…and an amazing community. I just want to contribute to making it a positive place and I want to make sure that we can spread the word about ZUMIX to have other people come here.

What are you most proud of (musically or non-musically)?

Making it this far in life.

What is your earliest memory with or about music?

Probably the theme song to Power Rangers when I was five year old. But my fondest memory is the Pokemon theme song.

What kind of music are you into now?

Now I find myself listening to a lot of music. I like hip hop and stuff like that but I branch out a lot and a lot of my favorite bands aren’t hip hop. Right now my top three are Twenty One Pilots, Alabama Shakes, and Cage The Elephant.

How are you involved in music now?

I’m trying to learn guitar but not with a tutor or anything – I’m trying to teach myself because it’s just something that I’ve always wanted to do. I tried to play piano for a year but that didn’t work out. My hands are too small. Guitar is easier to learn for me.

If you could be a musical instrument what would you be and why?

Drums because I’m the loudest.

What is the purpose of music? What does music mean to you?

Music is a very easy way for people to communicate and express themselves. We’ll leave it at that.

If you could take any musician to any show, who would it be, and what show would you take them to?

Aw man. I’d take David Bowie to a Twenty One Pilots concert. Because Twenty One Pilots are weird and so is David Bowie. And I just want a reason to hang out with David Bowie.

What was the happiest moment in your life?

Finishing freshman year of high school with a 3.0 average while taking two AP classes (AP US History and AP Biology).

Do you think music can change the world? In what ways?

Yes and it already has. It just brings people together. When you think of music, you don’t think of negative music. You could be in Japan and bond over music with someone in America. And that’s just what music does, it brings people together.

Photo credit: Justin Garcia

 

One thought on “Meet Dawry, ZUMIX Youth Staff.

  1. Dawry, thank you for all your hard work this summer! You did such a good job w/ our social media and youtube channel!! I’m looking forward to the first LIP SINK BATTLE #getready

    Like

Leave a Reply

